print Font Size: small font medium font large font

Board Members

 Director, John L. Varela 

John L. Varela - District 1  
Elected: November 2016; Term Expires December 2018

District 1 boundaries cover cities of Morgan Hill, San Martin, Gilroy and hills east of San Jose and Milpitas; much of Evergreen Elementary School District; much of Oak Grove Elementary School District; and much of San Jose City Council District 2; the Oak Grove Elementary School District areas east of Monterey Highway and generally south of Highway 85 and Santa Teresa Boulevard.

Barbara Keegan

Barbara Keegan, Director - District 2
Elected: November 2016; Term Expires December 2020

Barbara Keegan first moved to San Jose in 1975 and has lived in District 2 for most of her life. A third generation Civil Engineer, Barbara attended San Jose State University where she earned her Bachelor's and Master's degrees in Civil Engineering. Barbara is a licensed Civil Engineer.

Richard Santos

Richard P. Santos, Director - District 3 and 2018 Board Chairperson
Re-elected: November 2016; Term Expires: December 2020

Richard Santos was elected to represent District 3 in 2000 for the residents of Sunnyvale, Santa Clara, Alviso community, Milpitas, and Berryessa/Alum Rock communities. 

Linda LeZotte

Linda J. LeZotte, Director - District 4 and 2018 Vice Chairperson
Elected:  November 2014; Term Expires:  December 2018

Linda J. LeZotte was elected to the Board in 2010 and served as Chair of the Board in 2012. Linda represents the City of Campbell, portions of the Willow Glen and Cambrian communities, and North Almaden and Blossom Hill areas of San Jose. Linda is a local attorney with 30 years of practice specializing in the areas of land use, environmental and municipal law and corporate development.

Nai Hsueh

Nai Hsueh, Director - District 5
Elected:  November 2016; Term Expires:  December 2020

A long-time resident of Santa Clara County, Nai Hsueh is passionate about services provided by the District's water supply, flood protection, and environmental stewardship. Nai is committed to governing the District with ethical and transparent leadership, prudent management of District finances and other resources, and a long-term and countywide perspective.

Tony Estremera

Tony Estremera, Director - District 6
Elected:  November 2014; Term Expires:  December 2018

Tony Estremera began his tenure on the Board of Directors in 1996, when he was appointed to fill out Director Pat Ferraro's term after the District 2 representative resigned. He has a long list of government experience in both appointive and elected positions, serves as directing attorney for the Legal Aid Society of Santa Clara County and is an active member of the State Bar of California and the Santa Clara County Bar Association.

Gary Kremen

Gary Kremen, Director - District 7
Elected:  November 2014; Term Expires:  December 2018

Gary Kremen is an engineer with more than 30 years experience starting and mentoring companies that change people’s lives. He invented online dating, starting Match.Com where he was indirectly responsible for over 1,000,000 babies. He founded Clean Power Finance, a leading provider of solar energy to residences, backed by Southern California Edison, Kleiner Perkins, Google, and others. He previously was President of the Purissima Hills Water District.