print Font Size: small font medium font large font

Redistricting committee to help establish new boundaries for Santa Clara Valley Water District

Contact: Susan Siravo
Office: (408) 265-2607, ext. 2290
Cell: (408) 398-0754 

November 25, 2009

SAN JOSE --The Santa Clara Valley Water District Board of Directors appointed seven community members from all areas of Santa Clara County to work on establishing new district boundaries.

State Assembly Member Joe Coto introduced AB 466 to amend the Santa Clara Valley Water District Act in early 2009 and it was signed into law by Governor Schwarzenegger last month. Among the amendments, AB 466 replaces the current Board of Director’s structure. The new structure requires all seven board members be elected from new districts that will be drawn through a formal redistricting process. That process must be completed by June 30, 2010.

“I am pleased that we were able to identify such a diverse group of community leaders to represent a wide variety of voices from throughout the county. This committee will ensure the process is open, inclusive and transparent,” said Water District Board Chair Sig Sanchez.

Each board member will be elected from seven smaller, equally-divided districts. Creating smaller districts will improve voter representation, as each new district will better reflect the geographic, social and economic diversity that exists within Santa Clara County. In addition, the new smaller districts will provide greater opportunity for competitive elections by making it less expensive for residents to run for public office.

The creation of new districts requires a redistricting study, to ensure the seven newly drawn districts meet the one-person, one-vote test to comply with the federal Voting Rights Act. To assist with the completion of this redistricting the Board of Directors created an independent Redistricting Advisory Committee comprised of seven community members. The committee members are as follows:

  • District 1: Bill Baron
  • District 2: Lynda Ramirez Jones
  • District 3: Rev. Jeff Moore
  • District 4: Suzanne Wilson
  • District 5: Dr. Michael Chang
  • North County At-Large: Bob Brownstein
  • South County At-Large: Roland Velasco

The process is expected to be complete by April 13, 2010 with the Santa Clara Valley Water District Board of Directors adopting a redistricting plan at the April 27, 2010 meeting. The Redistricting Advisory Committee is expected to hold a total of seven meetings in various locations throughout the county. Additional details can be found at

The first meeting of the Redistricting Advisory Committee will be held January 19, 2010 at 6 p.m. at the Santa Clara Valley Water District Headquarters, located at 5700 Almaden Expressway in San Jose. The meeting is open to the public.

The Santa Clara Valley Water District is the primary water resource agency for Santa Clara County. Our duties include managing wholesale drinking water resources and providing stewardship for the County’s watersheds, including 10 reservoirs, hundreds of miles of streams, and groundwater basins. The District also provides flood protection throughout the entire county.